For three weeks, I quit eating meat cold turkey and documented my findings as I went through the journey. Here’s what I learned. RELATED: These 13 Delicious Plant-Based Products Make Vegan Eating Incredibly Easy RELATED: What Happens to Your Body When You Stop Eating Meat? We Asked an RD To counteract my newfound yearning for sugar, I found it helpful to look at how well-balanced my new meal regimen was. I assessed whether I was getting the right nutrients or eating more refined carbohydrates instead of healthy whole grains or fruits and vegetables. I found that the easiest way to stave off these sugar cravings was to indulge in a bowl of healthy fruits like apples, bananas, and berries. Afterward, I was perfectly satisfied. Committing to a vegetarian diet was much easier than I had anticipated. Moving forward, I’ll likely continue on a flexitarian diet, focused on eating less meat and more plant-based products. RELATED: 7 Delicious Plant-Based Ingredient Swaps That’ll Benefit Your Health and the Planet